The State of Delaware mandates that a dog owner is liable for bodily injury, personal injury or accidental death caused by the owner’s dog. There are certain situations that circumvent the dog owners liability, as in the case of a person getting bitten while tormenting a dog or attempting to harm the dog owner. Being attacked by a dog warrants the help of an experienced Delaware personal injury lawyer in handling animal attack claims.
Dangerous Dog Statute in Delaware
Although Delaware law does not address an animal owner’s liability for injuries, an animal inflicts on another person, there are statutes that outline legal duties for what are considered dangerous dog owners. Once a dog has been established as dangerous in Delaware, the owner must:
- Maintain liability insurance of at least $100,000.00 to cover any damage or injury caused by the dog
- Confine the dog when on the owner’s property
- Muzzle and restrain the dog when it is off the owner’s property
- Display warning sign stating there is a dangerous dog on premises
- Spay or neuter the dog
- Immediately notify local animal control agency when the dog is loose or confined, attacks another person or domestic animal or when the owner moves or the owner dies
- Statute violations can range from $50.00 to $2,000.00 in Delaware
Contact the Freibott Law Firm Today about Your Dog Attack Case
If you have been bitten by a dog or attacked by a domestic animal in Delaware, call The Freibott Law Firm at (302) 633-9000 or (302) 227-9559 regarding your legal rights. If you have been attacked by a dog on someone else’s property, you may be entitled to benefits and compensation under Delaware personal injury law and premises liability law.